Inconclusive No Confidence Motion

Morajji Desai in July 1979 remains a standalone example. It was an inconclusive motion as the debate happened, but the PM resigned before voting. Morarji’s government fell, and he took retirement from politics. Morarji, once a long-time Congress leader, was India’s first PM to head a non-Congress government from 1977 to 1979 post-Emergency. He led the Janata Party government at the center. Internal differences in the Janata Party forced him to quit before voting on the no-confidence motion with some of the senior colleagues and ministers resigning. In PM office for 856 days. 

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: