No Confidence in Motions

The Indian Parliament voted for its first no-confidence motion on 22 Aug 1963. Jawaharlal Nehru was PM then. It failed. Current PM Narendra Modi faced India’s 28th no-confidence motion in August 2023. Voting failed. All 28 no-confidence motions have failed so far. The difference between ‘vote for’ and ‘vote against’ was quite high in 18 no-confidence motions so far. Just 8 no-confidence motions have got more than 100 votes in support. The closest one was against PM PV Narasimha Rao in 1990s. The motion motion against him failed by just 14 votes. 251 Lok Sabha members supported the motion while it was opposed by 265. The Modi government won the no-conference motion by voice vote.

Related Posts