India – States/UTs – The History – 1956


  • Independence – 571 princely states
  • Temporarily reorganized in 27 states

1950 – Constitution Republic – a federal structure

  • Part A States – 9 – Assam, Bihar, Bombay, Madhya Pradesh (formerly Central Provinces and Berar), Madras, Orissa (subsequently renamed Odisha in 2011), Punjab (formerly East Punjab), Uttar Pradesh (formerly the United Provinces), and West Bengal
  • Part B States – 8 – Hyderabad, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Bharat, Mysore, Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU), Rajasthan, Saurashtra and Travancore-Cochin
  • Part C States – 10 – Ajmer, Bhopal, Bilaspur, Coorg, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Kutch, Manipur, Tripura, and Vindhya Pradesh

Part A States – Governor’s Provinces of British India

Part B States – formerly princely states

Part C States – chief commissioners’ provinces + princely states

1956 – States Reorganization Act

  • 14 states –  Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Bombay State, Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Madras State, Mysore State, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal
  • 6 UTs – Himachal Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Delhi, Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands, Manipur and Tripura

Related Posts